Davie Fraser Remembered

skint and angry

In 1997 I was at a political event in London. My accommodation the first night was a squat. I slept in a chair, my mate who I’d travelled down with slept on the floor, and a scruffy lefty from Paisley slept on the couch. I knew that lefty, Davie Fraser, a little, having seen him at meetings and demos, but that was probably the first occasion on which I’d spent any real time in his company. I was drunk and he was stoned and I don’t remember much about it except that we had a good laugh. We were both in the SWP at the time and already comrades in the party political sense, we gradually became friends after that trip to London.

When I moved to Paisley in 2000 Davie quickly became a regular visitor and a bad influence. I should have been studying but instead Davie would come…

View original post 2,780 more words

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

